Describe Something by What it’s NOT

The technique is called “negation.”

M.M. O'Keefe
4 min readAug 9, 2023
“Apophasis” is derived from the Greek word for denial. Photo by Nonsap Visuals on Unsplash, text added by author.

“Your comfort is NOT the goal.”

When I heard that negative assertion, it rang true as a bell in the belly of my being.

The communication technique of defining something by saying what it’s “not” is called “negation” or “apophasis,” the latter derived from the Greek word for denial. This article will elaborate on this technique and explain why it can be surprisingly effective. I will provide examples of an exercise I did to “negate” my headlines and report my subjective results. This should help you decide whether to add negation to your communications toolbox.

But it’s up to you. It’s OK with me if you do NOT (groan).

According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, apophasis is “describing something (such as God) by stating which characteristics it does not have, especially because human thought or language is believed to be insufficient to describe it fully or accurately.”

Apophasis (uh-pof-uh-sis) appeals to me because I write about spiritual topics that can be difficult to get your arms around in a straightforward way. Negation can nibble around the edges of the mystery and majesty of faith, belief, meaning, and purpose.

--

--

M.M. O'Keefe

I write about faith, fathering, sports, recovery and history — hoping to inspire you.